Kazan Federal University (KFU)

About KFU

Founded in 1804, KFU is the second oldest university in Russia and is regularly positioned among the top 15 Russian HEIs. Since 2013 KFU has been participating in the Russian Strategic Academic Excellence Project 5-100, which goal is to maximize the competitive position of a group of leading Russian universities in the global research and education market. KFU has been undergoing the large-scale modernization of educational, research and innovation processes, organizational structure and infrastructure.


KFU has defined its several interdisciplinary research and development priority areas as: Biomedicine and Pharmaceutics; Advanced materials; Oil production, refining and petrochemistry; Infocommunications and space technologies; Integrated social and humanities studies.


Within the KFU strategy 2013-2020, creating unique, internationally competitive joint academic programs in partnership with leading universities around the world and increasing academic mobility are among the key elements of the KFU internationalization process.


KFU consists of 14 institutes and has 2 branch campuses in the neighbouring cities (Elabuga and Naberezhnye Chelny). The KFU academic staff exceeds 4000 people.

The university provides educates over 45,000 students (in all campuses) and offers more than 600 degree programs of different levels, including 11 double-degree programs with foreign universities. KFU provides 9 EMI programs. The Institute of Fundamental Medicine and Biology provides EMI specialist degree programs “Medicine” and “Dentistry”. The Institute of Geology and Petroleum Technologies provides EMI master programs in the area of Stratigraphy and Complex data analysis in Petroleum geosciences. Institute of Computational Mathematics and Information Technologies provides EMI master programs «Open informatics» and «Data Science». The Faculty of Law provides EMI master programs«Legal support of international business» and «European and international business law». In 2019-2020, 7000 international students from more than 94 countries study in KFU.


KFU has 367 partnership agreements with 297 universities, research and academic centres and companies from 60 countries around the world.


Each year KFU runs many joint international projects funded by the EC, DAAD, DFG, Volkswagen Foundation, Fulbright Program, RFBR, RNF, etc. For the last several years KFU has implemented 3 big Erasmus Mundus Action-2 projects (Triple I, Aurora and Aurora II) in cooperation with 9 European and 10 Russian HEIs, 3 Tempus projects and 20 Erasmus + Credit mobility projects (Key Action 1). All of them have given an impulse for improving university procedures for student and staff academic mobility, international staff and student recruitment, academic quality assurance and etc.

Presentation & Contact




Kremlyovskaya St, 18

Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan

Russia, 420008


Visit RTU Website:

See all partners